Our First 2018 General Election Endorsements



Bipartisan support is essential to combating gun violence across Illinois

CHICAGO (July 19, 2018) – The Illinois Gun Violence Prevention Political Action Committee (G-PAC) and Giffords have jointly endorsed 43 republican and democratic candidates in the November general election for their leadership in advancing legislation to keep our children and communities safe from gun violence.

“Our one job is to keep children and communities safe from gun violence, and such efforts are only possible with courageous bipartisan support demonstrated by these leaders,” said Kathleen Sances, President and CEO of G-PAC. “Gun violence claims the lives of children nearly every day in Illinois. These Republican and Democratic candidates who raised their hands in support of safe communities will help save hundreds, if not thousands, of lives across our state.”

Polling shows 85% of Illinois voters support measures that would combat illegal gun trafficking and help stop the flow of illegal guns into our communities. Despite the majority of Illinois voters who support such action and demand safer communities to live and work, the gun lobby continues to pressure elected officials to vote against the safety of their constituents.

“Now more than ever we need champions in the Illinois general assembly who won’t back down from confronting our nation’s gun violence crisis. Giffords is proud to endorse these leaders because we need them in Springfield to fight for us, our students, and our families. They know what it takes to stand up to the gun lobby and enact laws that are critical to saving lives. We look forward to working with G-PAC to help elect these candidates, so we can make gun safety a priority in the next legislative session, ” said Peter Ambler, Giffords Executive Director.


For the Illinois Senate:

Hon. Omar Aquino, 2nd district

Hon. Mattie Hunter, 3rd district

Ram Villivalam, candidate, 8th district

Hon. Laura Fine, candidate, 9th district

Hon. Iris Martinez, 20th district

Hon. Chris Nybo, 24th district

Hon. Tom Rooney, 27th district

Hon. Julie Morrison, 29th district

Hon. Terry Link, 30th district

Hon. Don Harmon, 39th district

Hon. John Curran, 41st district

For the Illinois House:

Aaron Ortiz, candidate, 1st district

Hon. Theresa Mah, 2nd district

Hon. Luis Arroyo, 3rd district

Delia Ramirez, candidate, 4th district

Lamont Robinson Jr., candidate, 5th district

Hon. Sonya Harper, 6th district

Hon. Melissa Conyears-Ervin, 10th district

Hon. Sara Feingenholtz, 12th district

Hon. Gregory Harris, 13th district

Hon. Kelly Cassidy, 14th district

Hon. Lou Lang, 16th district

Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, candidate, 17th district

Hon. Robyn Gabel, 18th district

Hon. Robert Martwick, 19th district

Hon. Lisa Hernandez, 24th district

Hon. Justin Slaughter, 27th district

Hon. Thaddeus Jones, 29th district

Hon. Mary Flowers, 31st district

Hon. Anna Moeller, 43rd district

Hon. Deb Conroy, 46th district

Hon. Peter Breen, 48th district

Hon. Marty Moylan, 55th district

Hon. Michelle Mussman, 56th district

Hon. Jonathon Carroll, 57th district

Bob Morgan, candidate, 58th district

Daniel Didech, candidate, 59th district

Hon. Sam Yingling, 62nd district

Maurice West, candidate, 67th district

Hon. Kathleen Willis, 77th district

Hon. Linda Chapa LaVia, 83rd district

Hon. John Connor, 85th district

Hon. Natalie Manley, 98th district

Hon. Carol Ammons, 103rd district

Hon. LaToya Greenwood, 114th district

Leave a Reply

The Gun Violence Prevention Political Action Committee (G-PAC) was founded by gun violence survivors
to counter the political influence of the gun industry and their lobby in Springfield.